Artnexus Artnexus

1st place serie. Robin de Puy, Randy. Netherlands

1st place single. Kremer Johnson. The Bass Family. United States

Jurors? Picks. Andrés Orjuela (Colombia). Selected by Siobhán Bohnacker (Senior Photo Editor The New Yorker)

Jurors? Picks. Felipe Jacome (Ecuador). Selected by Jim Casper (Editor-in-Chief LensCulture).

LensCulture Portrait Awards 2018


The fifth edition of the LensCulture Portrait Awards sought photographers from countries around the world in fourteen different languages and gathered an international jury formed by eight photography experts in order to find fresh, exciting, and timeless approaches to portraiture. The resulting selection of thirty-nine talented photographers from five continents reflects an interesting diversity of contemporary portraits from around the world.

The winning series include profoundly moving black and white photographs of a lonely boy living in a remote desert area; inspiring images of courageous teenage girls who escaped Boko Haram in Nigeria and are now telling their stories; classical portraits that "embrace the essential," captured with 8 × 10 film and taken by complete strangers in Prospect Park, Brooklyn (New York).

There are also conceptual, political, dream-like, staged, produced, or completely realist series. In the hands of these photographers, the portrait becomes an immensely powerful and malleable frame through which we are invited to interact with the world.

The jury granted awards in the categories of "Single Image," "Series," and "Jurors' Pick." Prize purses were given to the "Series" winner (Robin de Puy, from the Netherlands, for the work titled Randy), the "Single Image" winner (Kremer Johnson, from the US, for the work titled The Bass Family), as well as to the eight "Jurors' Pick," each selected by one of the eight jurors.

Winners, finalists and the jury's picks will be included in a digital exhibition during Photo London, in May, and in Arles, France, in June. The works selected will also be presented in photographic festival throughout the year.

The jury panel was formed by: Rebecca Morse, Curator of the Wallis Annenberg Photography Department, Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA); Sacha Lecca, Deputy Photo Editor of Rolling Stone; Siobhán Bohnacker, Senior Photo Editor of The New Yorker; Christophe Laloi, Co-Founder and Artistic Director of the Voies Off Festival; Elena Boille, Deputy Editor-in-Chief and Photo Editor of Internazionale; Nadav Kander, Award-Winning Photographer; Kaycee Olsen, Director of the Von Lintel Gallery; Jim Casper, Editor-in-Chief of LensCulture; Winners in the "Jurors' Pick category were: Andrés Orjuela, Julia Fullerton-Batten, Meeri Koutaniemi, Labkhand Olfatmanesh, Massimo Giovannini, Mauro De Bettio, Anya Miroshnichenko, and Felipe Jacome.



Find here all the information on ArtNexus news.
  Exact Search